From the prototype rig to the final model, I’ve added bones to the skirt too avoid cloth simulation. also eyes rig an face in general.

I don’t know if it would have been better to add also bones for the sword due it’s never going to be separated from her. but I didn’t do it, instead I just told the mesh of the sword to follow the bone of the hand. Sometimes it was kind of a problem to make the hand and the sword to be in the exact position I wanted them to be. but mainly it worked okay. Fotos con los huesos de la falda

 

 expresiones

 

FK & IK

When I made Elena’s rig, I didn’t understand clear how to use forward kinematics and inverse kinematics. After a master class we had, I think the concepts are much more clear for me. In order to don’t forget it I’m going to put my notes here, so I can come back to it whenever I feel confuse about how a skeleton should move and how to make it happen.

To make the legs it isn’t necessary to ad FK (each bone is able move/rotate independently) , it’s enough with Ik (one bone controls a whole chain) in the foot.  Adding also a bone (to use as  pole) to control the knee direction I can get more movements.

 

Captura de pantalla (1108).png

But for the upper extremities. it is important to have FK as well as Ik. For an arm: we will need to make an IK that will be controlled by  the hand bone. ( and will have a pole at the elbow ). but also need each bone to rotate independent.  It is necessary then  ,to make controllers to each bone with copy rotation modifiers . so the bones in the chain will follow the rotation of the controllers.  this way, we make sure that the shoulder move first, then the elbow and  eventually the hand. This is necessary to make better arches, so the movements will look nicer, and even the trail I think.

I hope I knew this before starting to make the rigs, but for the next project it will be implied and the animations will improve significantly.

 

